Columbus, OH — Incumbents Joe Faraldo and Mark Loewe have been re-elected as chairperson and vice-chairperson, respectively, of the U.S. Trotting Affiliation Board of Administrators on Saturday (March 11) on the opening normal session on the second day of the annual assembly.

Joe Faraldo was re-elected as chairperson. USTA/Mark Corridor picture.

Faraldo defeated challenger Don Marean (chairperson of District 9) whereas Loewe received over Ivan Axelrod (chairperson of District 3).

Faraldo kicked off the opening normal session at 10:30 a.m.

After the Pledge of Allegiance and roll name, Faraldo acknowledged three new administrators, Rick Kane (District 7), Shawn Wiles (District 8) and Matt Sparacino (District 11). Wiles beforehand served on the Board from 2004 by 2017.

The President’s report adopted.

In his report, President Russell Williams knowledgeable the Board on the progress of the Racehorse Well being and Security Act, various laws to the present Horseracing Integrity and Security Act legislation.

“As an alternative of speaking about HISA and all the issues that would carry, there may be alternative laws for HISA that’s going to be launched on this session of Congress,” stated Williams. “It began with the racetrack veterinarians, it’s gone by the HBPA (Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protecting Company), so the Thoroughbred horse individuals have labored on it. The Quarter Horse individuals have labored on it and the USTA has been within the middle of getting the factor formed up for introduction.

“We truly received it despatched by a member of Congress to laws providers and that’s an enormous second.”

Williams additionally made feedback on a brand new web site venture that the USTA has been engaged on with the Digital Media Committee, the numerous enlargement of the group’s presence on social media, discussions with the French, and new genome and EPO research that the USTA is concerned with.

The election of officers was subsequent.

Director Steve McCoy carried out the election that noticed Faraldo and Loewe re-elected. Together with these two, the officers for the USTA in 2023 embrace President Russell Williams, Treasurer Jim Miller and Company Secretary Michele Kopiec.

Subsequent on the agenda, USTA Controller Dennis Fisher gave his annual presentation on the group’s financials and price range adopted by two sub-committee displays, the primary by David Reid on the Standardbred Transition Alliance and the second by Loewe and Ashley Tetrick on the Digital Media Committee.

The election outcomes have been then introduced and with no different enterprise to debate, Faraldo adjourned the assembly.

After the break from the morning session on the annual Recognition Luncheon, Williams made a presentation of the President’s Award to Ohio Harness Horsemen’s Affiliation Government Director Renée Mancino, who sadly was unable to attend.

Saturday afternoon featured two extra committee conferences, Racing and Registration.

The Racing Committee started with dialogue and voting on rule and bylaw change proposals. Regulatory Committee Chairperson Joe Faraldo led a dialogue on the required licensed paramedic, emergency medical technician and ambulance which might be necessary in response to USTA rule to be on the observe half-hour earlier than the primary race or qualifying race.

USTA COO/Registrar TC Lane gave an replace of the USTA Officers Intern and Education schemes.

Then Festivals Committee chairperson Skip Hoovler and USTA Outreach and Member Enrichment Coordinator Jessica Schroeder supplied an replace on the Ohio County Truthful Greatest Practices. Schroeder additionally supplied an replace on the USTA Matching Funds Program.

Mark Loewe gave an replace on the USTA Strategic Wagering program. USTA/Mark Corridor picture.

On behalf of USTA Strategic Wagering Committee Chairperson Michael Carter, Mark Loewe gave an replace on this system. He additionally led a dialogue on Grand Circuit races and consideration of a graded stakes program.

USTA Racetrack Operations and Licensing Supervisor Michele Kopiec supplied a abstract of the brand new tote feed integration with eTrack.

As a part of the Driver/Coach Committee report, Kopiec knowledgeable the administrators that the brand new driver/coach examination and examine information is now accessible in Spanish.

Steve Oldford did a recap of the 2022 newbie driving membership exercise and Mike McNealy of Van Gundy insurance coverage supplied an in-depth overview of the incapacity earnings and new outrider applications.

The Racing Committee completed their assembly with a presentation by Nevada Standardbred Affiliation President Tim Bohannon on efforts to carry harness racing to that state with a observe plus equine and leisure complicated in Pahrump, Nevada.

Within the remaining assembly on Saturday after voting on rule and bylaw change proposals, Lane supplied the Registration Committee with the 2022 Abstract Report and Tendencies, the annual statistical report for the trade. He additionally reported on the progress of analysis underway with UC Davis on genomics and foal abnormalities in addition to help that the USTA is offering to the College of Minnesota in research on osteochondrosis, recurrent exertional rhabdomylysis, and cardiac arrhythmias.

USTA Assistant Registrar Aimee Hock supplied an in-depth overview of the eight-person USTA Member Companies staff and providers supplied in 2022. Schroeder gave a evaluation of the primary yr of the Standardbred Incentive Program. Lastly, Dr. Andy Roberts led a dialogue of unilateral versus bilateral ovariectomy.

The assembly was adjourned and the second day of the USTA Board of Administrators annual assembly concluded.

The third and remaining day of the conferences will start at 9 a.m. Sunday with the Finance Committee assembly adopted by the Guidelines Committee and concluding with the Board of Administrators closing normal session.

Movies from the Board of Administrators opening normal session might be seen on the USTA YouTube channel right here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *